MAY 1st Deadline by State Law



<u>Mail</u> to: Office of Veterans Affairs, 118 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05620-4401 <u>Fax</u> to: 802-828-5932 or <u>Email</u> to: MIL.OVAinfo@vermont.gov In-State toll free 888-666-9844; Phone: 802-828-3379 www.veterans.vermont.gov Monday - Friday 7:30am - 4:00pm

## 2024 PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION FOR DISABLED VETERANS AND THEIR SURVIVORS

The State of Vermont offers a property tax reduction *on the assessed value* of the primary residence of a 50% or more disabled veteran (as rated by the Federal VA) and their survivors. The amount of the reduction varies from \$10,000 - \$40,000. Please contact your city or town clerk for property tax related information or questions.

# Eligibility guidelines are at the bottom of this application. Instructions are on the back.

APPLICANT INFORMATION		
Name of Applicant:	Applicant is: Veteran Survivor	
Mailing Address:		
Mailing Town:	State:	Zip:
Phone Number:	Email Address:	
Town Exemption Applies to, if Different from Mailing Town:		
School Parcel Account Number (SPAN) for Property:		
SPAN is an 11-digit number listed on your property tax bill. Contact your town clerk if you do not have a bill.		
********PLEASE SIGN BELOW******		
<i>I understand that it is my responsibility to provide current documentation to verify eligibility for this benefit. Without it, I may not receive the reduction. I understand that it is my responsibility to notify the Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs if my eligibility status changes or if the property above is no longer my primary residence.</i>		
Signature:	Date:	
ELIGIBILITY		
<ul> <li>To be eligible for the exemption, <u>Veterans</u> must meet one of the three criteria listed below:</li> <li>Receive Disability Compensation for a service-connected disability rated 50% or higher by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.</li> <li>Receive Improved Pension (also called Non-Service Connected Disability Pension) from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.</li> <li>Receive a permanent medical retirement from the military.</li> </ul>		

To be eligible for the exemption, <u>Survivors</u> must be the un-remarried spouse or a minor child of a veteran who met the eligibility criteria above at the time of their death.

State of Vermont, Office of Veterans Affairs Form January 2024

- 1. Complete the Applicant Information portion of the form for disabled veterans or their survivors.
- 2. Read the Signature portion. Sign and date the form.
- 3. Mail, fax, or email the form, <u>along with the applicable documentation</u> (see below), to the Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs for the reduction to apply.
- 4. Applicants must submit this form and documentation <u>every year by May 1st</u>, except for individuals meeting the One-Time Filing criteria listed below.

### Documentation

All applications must include documentation to verify eligibility. The verification documents are issued either by the U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs (U.S. VA) or the Department of Defense (DoD).

### U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (U.S. VA)

Eligibility based on receipt of disability compensation rated 50% or higher, or receipt of improved pension, is verified by the U.S. VA. Please send the *current year* **Summary of Benefits** letter with your application. They are generally mailed to disabled veterans in January of each year. To request documentation, call (800) 827-1000 or by accessing eBenefits at <u>www.ebenefits.va.gov</u>

#### Department of Defense

Eligibility based on military retirement (**permanent**) for medical reasons is verified by submitting a DD Form 214 that shows the veteran was medically retired, or a copy of the medical retirement letter.

### Privacy

The Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs does not need any additional information on veterans other than what is listed above. We do not need information on payments the veteran receives. Applicants are free to request documents from the U.S. VA that limits the information included. In addition, applicants are free to black out payment amounts on the provided documentation before submitting to the Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs.

The Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs will provide the Vermont Department of Taxes and towns the names, addresses, and SPAN of approved applicants.

### **One-Time Filing**

With written proof from the U.S. VA (800-827-1000), the following individuals only have to apply once, as their eligibility will not change. The one-time filing must be approved by the OVA.

- Veterans who have been designated totally and permanently disabled by the U.S. VA.
- Veterans who have had a disability compensation rating of 50% *or higher* for 10 *consecutive* years. You MUST call the VA Regional Benefits office at 866-687-8387 ext. 5335 to obtain a letter stating this.
- Veterans who received a **permanent** medical retirement.
- Surviving spouses (eligibility will only change if they remarry; it is the responsibility of the surviving spouse to notify the Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs if they remarry).