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This fact sheet summarizes the information veterans and their tax preparers need to ensure that veterans receive
available property tax assistance through the Property Tax Exemption and Property Tax Credit Claim options.

Disabled veterans who own their homes and declare
Vermont homesteads may be eligible for a property
tax exemption. The exemption reduces the assessed
value of the homestead, lowering the veteran’s
property taxes.

State law mandates a minimum $10,000 property tax
exemption for veterans in both the municipal and
education grand list. Cities and towns may vote to
increase the exemption up to $40,000 in the municipal
grand list. The value of a veteran’s homestead will be
reduced by the amount of the exemption. Veterans are

eligible for the exemption in one of three circumstances:

» Disability compensation for 50% or higher
disability or

e Non-Service connected pension (“improved
pension”) or

o Military retirement pay for a permanent medical
military retirement

If a veteran’s disability qualifies him/her for this
exemption, the federal Department of Veterans Affairs
will issue a Summary of Benefits Letter. Submit the
current year application that is available on
www.veterans.vermont.gov to the Vermont Office of
Veterans Affairs by May 1 of each year.

Note: Surviving spouses of veterans who had
previously qualified for this exemption may also be
eligible if they don’t re-marry.

Need help with the Exemption for Veterans?
Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs
118 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05620-4401
(888) 666-9844 toll-free in VT
(802) 828-3379 local
Website: veterans.vermont.gov

Disclaimer: This fact sheet is intended to provide an overview only.
Vermont tax statute, regulations, Vermont Department of Taxes rulings,
or court decisions supersede information provided in this fact sheet.
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Like other homeowners, veterans may qualify for

a property tax credit. This Property Tax Credit Claim is
made in conjunction with the Homestead Declaration.
The state education property tax may then be adjusted
based on a percentage of household income.

You will need the following forms to file a Property Tax
Credit Claim:

o Form HS-122, Homestead Declaration and
Property Tax Credit Claim
¢ Schedule HI-144, Household Income

Note: When completing the Property Tax Credit Claim,
be sure to enter the housesite value and property taxes

[ as shown in the housesite section of your property tax
| bill.

Important Note on Household Income

Household Income is different from the income
reported on the income tax forms. It includes both
taxable and nontaxable income. Social Security,
nontaxable pensions, some gifts, and all benefits
paid by the Veterans Administration are
considered part of household income and need to
be reported on Line b of the Vermont Schedule
HI-144, Household Income.

For more information, see our fact sheets
at tax.vermont.gov/fact-sheets

Need help with the Homestead Declaration,
Property Tax Credit Claim,
and Household Income?

Vermont Department of Taxes
133 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633

(802) 828-2865 or toll-free at (866) 828-2865
Email: tax.individualincome@vermont.gov
Forms on our webslte: tax.vermont.gov/forms
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